MINI MINUTES

May 31, 2021 Board Meeting

The Board observed a minute of silence for the 215 children found at the former Kamloops Residential school and in respect to all those affected by the horrific news.

I would like to begin by acknowledging that we are in Treaty One territory and that the land on which we gather is the traditional territory of Anishinaabeg, Cree, Oji-Cree, Dakota and Dene peoples and the homeland of the Métis Nation.

Received as Information / Updates

- Collective Bargaining.
- COVID-19.
- MSBA Bill 64 Campaign.
- MSBA Municipal Engagement Resources.
- Seven Oaks Education Foundation.

Approved

- That the Board supports the signing of the Scholarship and Awards Agreement between the Seven Oaks Education Foundation and the Seven Oaks School Division.
- That the Board supports James Nisbet Community School's request to Manitoba Education to continue with the Balanced School Day for the 2021-2022 school year.
- That the Board supports Constable Finney School's request to Manitoba Education to continue with the Balanced School Day for the 2021-2022 school year.
- That the Board supports A.E. Wright Community School's request to Manitoba Education to continue with the Balanced School Day for the 2021-2022 school year.

Approved for Payment

■ That Invoice No. BALANCE - AURORA toward the Precinct F Land - Daytona purchase in the amount of \$3,363,043.99 be paid to D'Arcy & Deacon LLP.

Correspondence

- Morgan Whiteway, A/Director of Labour Relations and Human Resources, MSBA.
 Update on Remaining Bills from 3rd Session, 42nd Legislature (Spring Session 2021).
- The Terry Fox Foundation. Thank you for the division's support.
- RM of West St. Paul. Zoning By-Law 2/99P. Combined public hearing Wednesday, June 24, 2021.
- Manitoba School Boards Association. e-bulletin May 19, 2021.
- CASSA-CSBA Conference. Equity and Inclusion for Student Well-Being July 7 to July 9, 2021.
- Manitoba School Boards Association. CPI Unemployment update April 2021.
- Government of Manitoba NewsRelease. May 21, 2021 Education Property Tax Rebate Cheques being mailed to Manitobans.
- Mike Giffen, SOTA President. SOTA fees for the 2021/2022 school year.

- RM of West St. Paul Roadwork. Main Street (PTH 9) and Meadowland Drive/Riverglen Crescent Intersection Improvements.
- Darren Thomas, Chairman, Safe Grad/TADD Manitoba, MSBA. Safe Grad 2021.
- Deputy Minister Sarah Whiteford, Manitoba Education, System Performance and Accountability Division. Announcement of Safe School Funding for the 2021-2022 School Year.
- Government of Manitoba. Province provides protection and additional millions of dollars for safe schools as pandemic continues.

Personnel Report

- Everett Fristensky was appointed to a full-time (1.00) Limited Teacher-General (Term) contract effective September 7, 2021 to November 12, 2021.
- Samantha Hancox was appointed to a part-time (.75) Limited Teacher-General (Term) contract effective September 7, 2021 to June 30, 2022.
- Rhys Morris was appointed to a full-time (1.00) Limited Teacher-General (Term) contract effective May 26, 2021 to June 30, 2021.
- Keana Rellinger was appointed to a full-time (1.00) Limited Teacher-General (Term) contract effective May 20, 2021 to June 30, 2021.
- David Stark was appointed to a part-time (.50) Limited Teacher-General (Term) contract effective September 7, 2021 to June 30, 2022.
- The following teachers were appointed to a full-time (1.00) Limited Teacher-General (Term) contract effective September 7, 2021 to June 30, 2022.

Melanie Beardy Kristen Myska Kai Chochinov Courtney Nault Patricia Figueroa Mbaye Ndiaye

Lindsay Fredette Penda Diagne Ep Ndiaye

David Heinrichs

Darashdeep Kambo

Carl Manuel

Dale Thiessen

Harpreet Mavi Liam Watson-Barber

The following teachers were appointed to a full-time (1.00) Teacher-General

(Permanent) contract effective September 7, 2021.

Jennifer Kasprick Julie Rowluk
Tanya Muswagon Jaskiran Uppal

Chantal Ramrai

 The following were appointed to a Substitute Teacher contract effective the 2020-2021 school year.

Sukhdev Brar Keana Rellinger Rys Morris Meghan Sadowy

- Linda Guest was granted a part-time (.25) leave of absence, without pay, effective September 7, 2021 to June 30, 2022.
- Erin Lees was granted a part-time (.50) leave of absence, without pay, effective September 7, 2021 to June 30, 2022.
- Swati Prabhakar was granted a full-time (1.00) leave of absence, without pay, effective November 22, 2021 to December 22, 2021.
- Glen Pfeifer gave notice of intent to retire effective June 30, 2021.

- Francesca Silla was appointed to a full-time (1.00) Limited Teacher-General (Term) contract effective September 7, 2021 to June 30, 2022.
- Shirley Rose gave notice of intent to retire effective July 1, 2021.
- Cheryl Brick was granted a full-time (7 hours per day) leave of absence, without pay, effective June 8, 2021 to December 31, 2021.
- Connie Phinney gave notice of intent to retire effective June 30, 2021.
- Raghad Alsayd was granted a part-time (.50) leave of absence, without pay, effective June 1, 2021 to March 30, 2022.